I am greater than God, and worse than the Devil. Poor people have me, rich people want me and if you eat me, you die. What am I?

Well, obviously I’m a riddle. But I’m also more than that. I love riddles because of the way they challenge a you to think around corners and look at situations from different angles. Here’s another one:

Matt’s mother has twelve children named; January, February, March, April, May, June, July, August, September, October and November. What is the name of the twelfth child?

When I was younger, my uncle would ask me riddles whenever we would visit him. I never got them. They were always too complex and I felt like an idiot after a simple answer was revealed. As I grew older, I came to realize that my uncle was just testing my ability to think critically. Have another riddle.

A red house is made of red bricks. A blue house is made of blue bricks. An orange house is made of orange bricks. What is a green house made of?

Now, I admit that saying solving riddles shows critical thinking is a generalization but I think there is value in being able to solve riddles. It shows an aptitude for logical thinking and paying attention to details. Both of which are necessary tools for critical thinking. It’s hard to deny the importance of these concepts. Solved them all yet? Take one for the road.

I am golden and deep, but if you speak my name, I break. What am I?

Leave a comment if you want the answers.

