It’s been a while since we’ve complained about job searching on the blog. I’m trying to maintain the streak but it gets difficult as I look at my prospects. Sure, I’m currently employed and would hardly complain about it, but sometimes I wonder if there is something more I could and should be doing. I’ve stated on more than one occasion that it is my intention to move to Texas and yet I’m not there yet. I think the fact that I’m not in Texas already speaks volumes about my motivation. I’m not sure if I like what it’s saying.

It feels like my current job is hindering my search for new/better job. There is a level of contentment that comes with receiving a steady paycheck, even if that paycheck doesn’t quite help sustain a basic quality of life. Sometimes I feel myself falling into that contentment, it’s easy to look at my current situation and say that it is “good enough.”

It’s not.

I had a conversation with my father the other day. He said, “if you stand still, life will run you over.” It should be known that my father is prone to say all sorts of things, mixing and confusing adages like an alchemist attempting to turn iron into gold. But this quote stuck with me. Perhaps the reason I’m feeling  stuck is because I’m not moving. If that’s the case then what will it take to get me moving? What is my motivation? These are necessary questions because I know I can’t stay where I am, mired in contentment.

My motivation is twofold. First is getting to Texas to join my girlfriend, who has been waiting patiently for my arrival. We have made commitments to each other that are strained by our distance. My second motivation is to leave Boston. I’ve been here for three years. I did school, and since I’m not looking to live here, it’s time to go.

The bottom line is that I need to regain my motivation and keep it firm in my mind. There is no reason that I can’t be in Texas before the year ends. And, I will.

