Writer (PT)

I’ve come to realize that there are certain types of job postings I hate. One of them is the “lazy job post.” I’m not saying that every job post needs flash and pizazz, but at least try to capture and hold my attention. You can’t just rely on the name of your company being recognized as the only way to draw people in. On top of that, you can’t just list out, in bullet points, the job description and requirements and expect me, as a job seeker, to jump all over it. If you want something from me, you gotta give me something in return. Come on!

Copy Editor, TechTarget Technology Guide

From time to time we use this space to highlight good job posts. This is one of them.  The first thing they do is outline the responsibilities of the job. It’s all in the first paragraph. There is no “About the Company” section, because honestly, it’s unnecessary. The second paragraph lets a job hunter know that there may be some other responsibilities that are complementary to the job. Then straight bullet points letting you know all the responsibilities and educational and experience requirements. It’s laid out neatly and efficiently. There are some basic graphics to spice things up and then an email contact. My only quibble is that any job requiring you to copy edit or write should ask for a writing sample. Come on! apply for this job!

Editor: Kid’s Talk Radio

So, if you’re an avid reader of our blog, you know that I applied to this position about a month and a half ago.  I noticed today that they’re re-posted their job opening, and I can’t help but wonder what on earth they did with my application, because they certainly didn’t read it.  Let’s just take a look at the requirements one more time:

  • I love to write.
  • I have written for other organizations.
  • I am an English major.
  • I have taken courses in various forms of writing.
  • I have published articles.
  • I have published books.
  • I am about to publish a book.
  • I have good editing skills.
  • I am a member of a writing club
  • I feel that I could help young writers to become better writers

Check mark all of those except for the book ones.  Double check mark the last bullet point, because that’s not just a “feeling” anymore, that’s a given.  I’ve been doing that for five years now.  Oh, and they don’t mention experience in radio, but I have some of that too.  What gives, people?

I think Kids Talk Radio has fallen prey to what I fear is a common problem in the job post world: lying.  I refuse to believe that my resume doesn’t warrant at least an email in response.  And, since I’ve sent them more than one email, I don’t think they’ve just “misplaced” my application.  The only other logical explanation is that they just don’t want to hire anyone, and yet continue to post their job online.  Come ON.

