Script Writer Needed

It’s a trap!  At first, job posts like this one will draw you in with their concise job description and readability.  You’ll think, “Awesome!  I’m qualified!”  But in the end, is it really worth the application?  I’m willing to bet that this post will receive an enormous number of responses, but only a small fraction will be as qualified as the company is really looking for.  They don’t say they want a college grad, but obviously they’ll take someone with a degree over someone without one.  They don’t say they you need X years of experience, but let’s be real.  We know it matters.

On top of all that, what TRACK 180 is also omitting from this post is the fact that they’re basically a start-up website.  It’s possible they won’t be able to pay you much at all, since they leave the salary out of the picture.  Come on!

Copywriter Needed

For a company that deals in brand management, digital media and marketing, your job post looks pretty awful.  If you claim to be some of the best designers in the world, shouldn’t you know that size 9 white text on all black background is always a readability nightmare?  Also, how come your actual site looks great, but your job post is a disgrace?  Oh, and how come your job post isn’t accessible from your home page?  Is it even a real post?  Are you hiring at all?  Finally, what the heck does “Bachelor’s Degree or equivalent work experience required” mean?  Did I miss the memo that four years on the job was equal to a college degree?  If so, I’ve made a huge financial mistake…  Come on.

Great article/blog writer job

Call me jaded, but I’m always a little wary of job posts that don’t list the name of the company/newspaper/magazine I’ll be working for. It’s not enough to call yourselves a “leading online marketing company” I need to know who I’m working for so I can do my own research. I’m also not sure what to make of the two widely varied topics they want you to have ideas about. Wood and dating strategies. I could bring them together but that would probably be inappropriate.

Let’s do some math on this job real quick. They want you to be able to write 500 words in an hour. They also say that it’s a full time job. A full time job is 8 hours a day, five days a week. Therefore, they are looking for someone who can produce 8, 500-word stories a day, which is 4,000 words a day, which equals 20,000 words a week. All for $10/hour…? Come on!

Writer/Multimedia Reporter

I don’t think this is a particularly bad job. I think whoever wrote the job post tried a little too hard to appeal to journalists who are passionate about social justice and other social issues. I’ve been in school for journalism and I can tell you that “cross-training” in the digital and multimedia arts was kind of a new thing when I was in school a year ago. I know a lot has changed in our industry but you’ll be hard-pressed to find someone well trained in journalistic writing. videography, photography and audio.

Also, when you use terms like “journalistic jargon” to describe the duties of the job, it’s clear to me that you don’t know what you’re talking about but hoping the candidates do. That reeks of not doing enough research to write a decent job post. If you’re asking for that much from a candidate at least have the decency to know the language of their industry. Come on.

