The job application process is infinitely interesting. In the past few months, I’ve had varying emotions surrounding my attempt to be fully employed in a state in which I don’t live. Most recently, I’ve had to deal with a sudden increase in hiring managers getting back to me.

I have a job offer from a company in Texas. This is exciting and a bit daunting. It has always been my goal to move to Texas and with this job offer it’s tangible. I’m really enjoying this sudden communication with jobs. It’s such a vast difference from no communication that I find myself a bit overwhelmed by all the interest in me.

The last time I felt this way was when I was hired to be a tutor… Obviously it’s been a while! However, with interest comes wariness. Because I’m used to hearing nothing, I question all of this new interest.

Why me? What about my application stood out? It’s a sad state of affairs when you question why a company wants to pay you to write.

I think the real issue, is that I must now make some choices. Is this job offer good enough? Will it allow me to fulfill my various financial obligations? Can I afford to pass on it and wait for another job to contact me?

Not to mention the hassle of packing my stuff and moving.

What it comes down to is that this job opportunity represents a major life change and if I decide to take it, I need to be prepared for those changes. I’m not scared. I just have a healthy respect for the occasion.

