The job hunting process is not easy. I’ve likened it to a job in the past but that is only one aspect of it. It’s also like a sprint and a marathon… A sprinted marathon. The process requires the endurance of a marathon but also the ability to move quickly and churn out an application when an opportunity presents itself.

On top of that, you hardly ever get a response from employers who are looking to fill a position “immediately.” I know I’m treading over ground we’ve already covered on the blog but I do it to highlight a new feeling. Being wanted.

I had an interview last week in Dallas. One of the three jobs actually followed up on what they said in an email and asked me to interview. This worked out well because it gave me an excuse to visit my girlfriend as well.

After the scheduled interview, my girlfriend took my to her high school because the school was looking for assistant football coaches. With my background in football and coaching it was a sound idea to stop by and pick up an application.

Within two minutes of explaining my interest, I was given an application and given the name of someone I should email once I completed it to inform them of my coaching intent.

What!? I’m sorry, I’ve been traveling for several hours and I’m quite tired. I swear I heard you give me the name, a direct contact in fact, of the person I would be working for. Clearly, I’m delirious from the Texas heat.

I was not delirious. This high school was not only interested in me but looked forward to reviewing my application and interviewing me. I’m still in shock.

It’s been so long since a job responded to me or my application positively that I don’t know how to react. I’m pretty sure outright suspicion is inappropriate. I’ve been so jaded by the job hunting process that even a smidge of interest is too much for me to handle.

I completed the application and returned it to the school but I’m too wary to think it’s a done deal. Jobs are too ethereal to count on until the ink dries on the employee contract. However, it is good to know that there are people out there who value my experience and may want to add my talents to their workforce.

