Being out of the country, even at a family reunion, doesn’t mean I’m not a Phreelance Writer. As I sat in an airport, yesterday, I began to think about how I apply for jobs. Don’t worry, I’ll detail that process later, if at all. But I couldn’t help but wonder if the fact that I’m looking for work in a state in which I currently don’t reside is as big as an obstacle as I think it might be.

You may recall my three-job predicament. I’ve told each employer that I am moving to Dallas, but I sometimes wonder if saying that is enough. Are these hiring managers looking at my resume, clips and cover letter and thinking “man, I’d like to bring this guy in for an interview, but the company can’t afford to fly him in and put him up at a hotel.”

It’s even scarier and more depressing to think that I am being passed over because I don’t live in the same zip code of the place I’d like to work. But what more can I do, as a potential hire, to make it clear that I am moving to that city and I can pay my own way to get there?

My frustration grows because it feels like an insurmountable problem. eHow.com has some interesting strategies, some of which I’ve done. I like step one, it’s just like when you call customer service for a computer issue and they ask you if you have turned the computer on. This isn’t amateur hour, let’s pretend I’m a seasoned vet and know what I’m doing, OK?

Here’s the reality: I am probably one of hundred, maybe even thousands of applicants. I need to figure out a way to make myself more visible and less forgettable. If that’s the case, I’m prepared to go old school, pound the pavement, and knock on doors. I call it “impact job searching.” It’s sort of like impacting policing. I hope it doesn’t come to that, but if it does I have comfy shoes ready to go.

